From Our Friends at Community Water Justice

reid

This is Jerry Reid. Anti-water protector. Oppressor of Native people.
He was just appointed by Gov Janet Mills to serve as the next Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP). 

Mr Reid fought in court against the Penobscot Nation to their inherent fishing rights and claimed that the Penobscot River was not part of their reservation. He sided with the water-polluting corporations in the Penobscot Nation vs Mills case. He also absurdly claimed in court that the Penobscots only ever fished from the shoreline and not from the water, as though he had never heard of fishing from a canoe or watercraft. 

This appointment tells us clearly where Gov. Mills stands with indigenous people. We who stand for the protection of our water and the Wabanaki demand better in state leadership for the people of Maine.

This appointment will first need approval from the Environment and Natural Resources Committee and if approved there, will move forward for approval by the Senate. Please email members of the Committee (below) AND your Senator to 'ought not approve' Mr Reid's appointment:

Ralph Tucker (D) - (Chair) Ralph.Tucker@legislature.maine.gov
Brownie Carson (D) - (Chair) This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Justin Chenette (D) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Robert Foley - (R) - Robert.Foley@legislature.maine.gov
Mick Devin (D) - Michael.Devin@legislature.maine.gov
Jessica Fay (D) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.ine.gov
Stanley Paige Ziegler Jr (D) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Lori Gramlich (D) - Lori.Gramlich@legislature.maine.gov
Daniel Hobbs (D) - Daniel.Hobbs@legislature.maine.gov
Richard Campbell (R) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Peter Lyford (R) - Peter.Lyford@legislature.maine.gov
Thomas Skolfield (R) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Chris Johansen (R) - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
0
0
0
s2sdefault